Seasteading & Artificial Islands

Could the future of humanity be at sea?
Visit our sponsor, Brilliant: brilliant.org/IsaacArthur/
Our seas and oceans have long been central to human civilization, while at the same time we built dikes and islands to reclaim land. As technology improves, we may see even more ambitious efforts in the future. In the episode we will explore the options, both for ways we may extend our civilization to the sea and the motives of doing so. We will also look at seasteads and seasteading, artificial islands built in international waters with the intent of being new, sovereign nations.

Visit our Website: www.isaacarthur.net
Support us on Patreon: www.patreon.com/IsaacArthur
SFIA Merchandise available: www.signil.com/sfia

Social Media:
Facebook Group: www.facebook.com/groups/1583992725237264/
Reddit: www.reddit.com/r/IsaacArthur/
Twitter: twitter.com/Isaac_A_Arthur on Twitter and RT our future content.
SFIA Discord Server: discord.gg/v5UKTsz

Listen or Download the audio of this episode from Soundcloud: Episode’s Audio-only version:
soundcloud.com/isaac-arthur-148927746/seasteading
Episode’s Narration-only version: soundcloud.com/isaac-arthur-148927746/seasteading-narration-only

Credits:
Earth 2.0: Seasteading & Artificial Islands
Episode 154, Season 4 E40

Writers:
Isaac Arthur

Editors:
Darius Said
Evan Schultheis
Jerry Guern
Keith Blockus
Matthew Acker
Mark Warburton

Producer:
Isaac Arthur

Cover Artist:
Jakub Grygier www.artstation.com/jakub_grygier

Graphics Team:
Fishy Tree www.deviantart.com/fishytree/
Jeremy Jozwik www.artstation.com/zeuxis_of_losdiajana
Justin Dixon
Ken York of YD Visual www.facebook.com/YDVisual/

Narrator:
Isaac Arthur

Music Manager:
Luca DeRosa – lucaderosa2@live.com

Music:
Denny Schneidemesser, “Across the Universe” soundcloud.com/denny-schneidemesser
Markus Junnikkala, “Always Tell Me The Odds” www.markusjunnikkala.com/
Stellardrone, “On A Beam Of Light, Outrospace” stellardrone.bandcamp.com
Kai Engel, “Endless Story About Sun and Moon” www.kai-engel.com/
Aerium, “The Islands moved while I was asleep” www.youtube.com/channel/UCRnUJY3l5vIJFGsY3XvW4dQ
Serena Elis, “Between the space” soundcloud.com/serenaelis
Ross Bugden, “Legend of Styk” www.youtube.com/channel/UCQKGLOK2FqmVgVwYferltKQ

This channel focuses on exploring concepts in science with an emphasis on futurism and space exploration, along with a healthy dose of science fiction. While we explore many concepts and technologies that are far beyond us now, we try to keep everything inside the bounds of known science or major theories.

Scroll Up